skip navigation

Chad Olander raises the State Championship Trophy as Owatonna wins the 1989 AA Basketball title.

Hall of Fame Induction this Friday

09/13/2022, 9:00pm CDT
By Owatonna Football

The annual OHS Hall of Fame Ceremony will be held this Friday at 4 p.m. inside the high school auditorium. The public is invited to attend and help celebrate Owatonna’s storied athletic tradition while honoring the latest round of inductees.  The HOF inductees will be honored at halftime of Friday night’s game vs. Mankato West.

Headlining this year’s class are the inaugural Teams of Distinction, a special designation within the Hall of Fame created to recognize the highest-achieving teams throughout the rich history of OHS athletics. The initial group includes:

-1950 boys track and field: The first team state champion in school history

-1954 wrestling: Finished 11-0 and captured the program’s first of four state championships

-1974 baseball: Won the single-class state championship and ended with a 17-4 record

-1976 girls track and field: Captured the MSHSL’S first ever Class AA championship as part of the newly-formed two-class system (A and AA)

-1989 boys basketball: The first of the programs’ back-to-back Class AA title-winning teams

Individually, 1970 Owatonna High School graduate, Tom Freeburg, will enter the Hall of Fame for his accomplishments in golf and hockey. He will be joined by longtime local broadcaster, and current OwatonnaLive play-by-play announcer, Roy Koenig, also known as the “Voice of Owatonna.”


Tag(s): Home  News  Tradition